Careers Advice

The careers education and guidance programme at Outwood Academy Ormesby seeks to positively support you to acquire the educational, social and employability skills necessary for lifelong success in a diverse and changing world of work.

As a student at Outwood Academy Ormesby you are entitled to a careers, education, information, advice and guidance (CEIAG) programme which:

  • is personal to you and always puts your interests first
  • motivates and inspires you to consider all opportunities both within and outside of Outwood Academy Ormesby
  • helps you to gain the skills you need to make your career ambitions a reality
  • provides the support you need to be successful
  • helps you access any additional support you might need
  • is delivered by trained and qualified teachers and advisers, with up-to-date knowledge and understanding of
    career pathways and local labour market information
  • protects and respects your personal information and shares it only with your consent

We will support your career development in a number of ways including:

  • information and discussion in lessons and assemblies to help you make decisions about your future
  • activities and events such as careers fairs
  • access to career advisers in a variety of ways including individual meetings, drop-in sessions, learning pathway
    planning and results days
  • careers information and IT based careers programmes
  • information and updates on notice boards, plasma screens, websites and social media

Where can I go for CEIAG?

Careers Inc. are able to offer independent and impartial advice and guidance, which you are all entitled to should you wish to use it. You need to make an appointment with Miss Green who will organise it for you.Your 1:1 interviews will be held in the Careers Office in C Block, next to C9.

You can also use the Careers Inc. links on this page to help you.

You will also be able to find information in the library in the careers section where you will find college and university prospectuses. Mrs Rogers will be able to point you in the right direction!

You can visit colleges, go to open evenings and days. They are advertised on this page, around school, on the careers section of your VMG board and on our Twitter feed!

College Open Events

Middlesbrough College
Wednesday 26th September 2018 5pm-8pm
Tuesday 23rd October 2018 5pm-8pm
Thursday 11th December 2018 5pm-8pm
Saturday 26th January 2019 10am-12pm
Tuesday 12th February 2019 5pm-8pm
Saturday 23rd March 2019 10am-12pm
Monday 29th April 2019 5pm-8pm
Wednesday 22nd May 2019 5pm-8pm

The Northern School of Art/CCAD
Tuesday 2nd October 2018 5.30pm – 8pm
Saturday 17th November 2018 10am – 2pm
Saturday 19th January 2019 10am- 12pm
Monday 18th February 2019 10am – 12pm
Tuesday 2nd April 2019 5.30pm – 8pm
Saturday 15tyh June 2019 10am – 2pm

Redcar & Cleveland College
Wednesday 17th October 2018 5pm – 7pm
Wednesday 7th November 2018 5pm – 7pm
Tuesday 29th January 2019 5pm – 7pm
Wednesday 21st March 2019 5pm – 7pm
Wednesday 15th May 2019 5pm – 7pm

Prior Pursglove College
Thursday 18th October 2018 5pm – 8pm
Saturday 8th December 2018 10am- 12pm
Tuesday 5th February 2019 5pm -7.30pm
Wednesday 3rd April 2019 5pm -7pm

Macmillan Academy
Wednesday 10th October 2018 6pm – 8pm
Saturday 9th February 2019 10am- 12pm

NETA Training Group
Thursday 18th October 2018 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Thursday 22nd November 2018 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Thursday 31st January 2019 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Tuesday 5th March 2019 Apprenticeships – 5.30pm – 7.30pm

Stockton Riverside College
Monday 8th October 2018 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Thursday 15th November 2018 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Wednesday 21st November 2018 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Saturday 19th January 2019 10am – 12pm
Tuesday 12th February 2019 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Wednesday 6th March 2019 Apprenticeship event 5.30-7.30pm

SRC Bede Sixth Form College
Wednesday 3rd October 2018 5.30 – 7.30pm
Thursday 17th January 2019 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Thursday 14th March 2019 5.30pm – 7.30pm

Careers Policy

Click the links below to access your section of CareersInc:

For more information relating to provider access, please see our Provider Access Policy by clicking here...